August 1, 2021

Italy book Euro 2020 semifinals place with Spain after 2-1 defeat of Belgium in Munich

Italy beat Belgium 2-1 in the Euro 2020 quarterfinal game in Munich on Friday night to book a semi spot against Spain. Barello scored the game’s first goal in the 32nd minute before Insigne doubled the lead with minutes left to Half-Time. Romelu Lukaku scored from a penalty at the stroke of Half Time.

Eden Hazard missed the game after failing to recover from injury in round of 16 victory over Portugal and the Real Madrid star’s absence affected Belgium as Italy dominate early proceedings.

Azzurri’s early dominance saw them broke the deadlock after Giorgio Chiellini connect a free kick but the goal was overturned for offside after review of VAR.

Some minutes later, Nicolo Barrella danced his way through Belgium defense before placing a nice effort to the bottom left corner as Italy took the lead.

Roberto Mancini’s men took a commanding double lead after Lorenzo Insigne curled from the left outside the box to to the right top corner when Thibaut Courtois could do nothing to save the goal. it was 2-0 which seemed to be the first half scoreline but Lukaku altered it.

Belgium warmed themselves into the game and pulled one back before the first half could end when it all started from Hazard’s replacement Jeremy Doku who skipped past Di Lorenzo at the left edge of the box but the Italian right-back brought down the Belgian for a penalty which Lukaku made no mistake to send Gianluigi Donnarumma the wrong way.

Italy are undefeated in the tournament so far. They have set a new record for the longest run of victories in the competition, qualifying included.

Spain earlier beat Switzerland 3-1 on penalties after 1-1 draw in 90′ minutes at St. Petersbourg. Italy’s victory now pairs them against Spain who have previous eliminated Azzurri in the European Championship in 2008 and 2012.

Belgium: Courtois; Alderweireld, Vermaelen, Vertonghen; Meunier, Witsel, Tielemans, T Hazard; De Bruyne, Lukaku, Doku

Italy: Donnarumma; Di Lorenzo, Bonucci, Chiellini, Spinazzola; Barella, Jorginho, Verratti; Chiesa, Immobile, Insigne

Follow us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *