MUBARAK WAKASO ruled out in Ghana World Cup qualifiers against Zimbabwe

Mubarak Wakaso has been ruled out in Ghana’s double header against Zimbabwe in the African FIFA World Cup qualifiers for Qatar 2022 according to statement by the Ghana Football Association.

Ghana host Zimbabwe at the Cape Coast Stadium this Saturday before they will travel to their opponent’s home days later.

Ahead of those games, Ghana boss named a 32-man provisional squad to battle against the Zimbabweans.

With Ghana kneeing on on cut-down squad, 27 players were announced yesterday to begin camping for the World Cup games as five players were shown the exit door in final trim exercise.

Meanwhile, Mubarak Wakaso was one of five players Milo trimmed them as the midfielder reportedly not into full recovery. Other trimmed players; Ismail Abdul Ganiyu, Tariqe Fosu Henry, Joseph Alfred Duncan, Mubarak Wakaso and Emmanuel Gyasi.

The experienced midfielder has been feeling warm and cool over his fitness before Milo finally released his maiden Black Stars call up. The former Spanish LaLiga ace sustained injury in Ghana’s second World Cup qualifying game against South Africa last month.

In that game Ghana lost 1-0 at the FNB Stadium as the West Africans World Cup final chance narrowed. It’s only early stage of the round, Ghana could get their journey on track if they manage to beat Zimbabwe in the two fixtures before return to club football.

Despite seemly recovering from the South Africa injury, he has still not completely overcome all backslashes. The midfielder is still not fit that led to his omission from the Black Stars squad cut-down.

The Shenzhen FC player has scored 13 goals in 65 appearances for the Black Stars since his debut in 2012.

Ghana must win both games to remain in contention to qualify for next year’s FIFA World Cup in Qatar.

Ghana final 27-man squad

Goalkeepers: Lawrence Ati- Zigi (FC St. Gallen), Richard Atta (Hearts of Oak), Ibrahim Danlad, (Asante Kotoko), Jojo Wallocott (Swindon Town)

Defenders: Philemon Baffuor (Dreams FC), Andrew Yiadom (Reading FC), Gideon Mensah (Bordeaux), Baba Abdul Rahman (Reading FC), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew), Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg).

Midfielders: Thomas Partey (Arsenal FC), Baba Idrissu (Real Mallorca), Emmanuel Lomotey (Amiens), Mohammed Kudus (Ajax Amsterdam), Majeed Ashimeru (RSC Anderlecht), Kofi Kyere (St. Pauli), Abdul Fatawu Issahaku (Steadfast FC).

Forwards: Andre Ayew (Al Sadd SC), Kamaldeen Suleymana (Rennes), Joel Fameyeh (Orenburg), Yaw Yeboah (Wisła Kraków), Samuel Owusu (Al-Fayha FC), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), Caleb Ekuban (Genoa), Benjamin Tetteh (Yeni Malatyaspor)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *