CAF Champions League- Al Ahly drawn Ghana champions Medeama SC and Young Africans in Group stage

Ghana Premier League winners Medeama Sporting Club have been drawn in Group D of 2023-2024 CAF Champions League.

The Ghanaian side crushed out Nigeria’s Remo Stars in the first preliminary round before eliminating Guinean giants Horoya Athletic Club in the secound prelims and have learned their fate in the money zone against Al Ahly, CR Belouizdad and Young Africans.

CAF Champions League Group Stage Draw was officially conducted on Friday, 06 October in Johannesburg, South Africa – producing some mouth-watering fixtures for the competition.

Sixteen strong African football clubs have been drawn into four groups of four to determine the group stages of the competition, with the first round of fixtures scheduled for 24 – 25 November.

Winners of the 2016 edition, Mamelodi Sundowns headline Group A, which consists of Egypt’s Pyramids FC, 2015 competition winners TP Mazembe as well as FC Nouadhibou of Mauritania.

Last season’s finalists, Wydad Casablanca are in Group B and are joined by Tanzania’s Simba SC, Asec Mimosas of Cote d’Ivoire as well as Botswana’s Jwaneng Galaxy, who sent shockwaves across the continent in dispatching big clubs enroute to the group stages.

Esperance of Tunisia have been drawn in a tricky Group C which consists of Angola’s Atletico Petroleos, the unpredictable Al Hilal of Sudan as well as their country-rivals, ES Sahel.

Reigning champions, Al Ahly SC will headline Group D that consists of Algeria’s CR Belouizdad for a mouth-watering North-African derby, Tanzania’s Young Africans who finished second in the CAF Confederation Cup as well as Ghana’s Medeama who will be looking at causing major upsets in the group.

Al Ahly won the title last season after beating Morocco’s Wydad Casablanca in final but lost out the CAF Super Cup to USM Alger last month.

CAF Champions League Group Stage Draw Results:

GROUP A: Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa), Pyramids FC (Egypt), TP Mazembe (DR Congo), FC Nouadhibou (Mauritania)

GROUP B: Wydad AC (Morocco), Simba SC (Tanzania), Asec Mimosas (Cote d’Ivoire), Jwaneng Galaxy (Botswana)

GROUP C: Esperance (Tunisia), Atletico Petroleos (Angola),  Al Hilal (Sudan), Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia)

GROUP D: Al Ahly (Egypt), CR Belouizdad (Algeria), Young Africans (Tanzania), Medeama (Ghana)

Competition match dates

MD 1 | 24 – 25 November

MD 2 | 01 – 02 December

MD 3 | 08 – 09 December

MD 4 | 19 December

MD 5 | 23 -24 February

MD 6 | 01 – 02 March

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *