Ghana Black Stars call up 23 players to face South Africa and Sao Tome & Principe in 2021 AFCON qualifier.

The Black Stars of Ghana ought to get things under way after running a poor show in 2019 AFCON in Egypt. The Stars accumulated 5 points out of a possible of 9 to emerge as the first placed team to make the cut to the 1/16 of the AFCON Championship in Egypt, only suffering a 4-5 defeat to Tunisia on penalties.

Akwesi Appiah and his side have been out of football for close to four months now after the end of Egypt 2019, however, their immediate actions come next month when Ghana face South Africa and Sao Tome and Principe in 2021 AFCON qualifiers.

Ahead of the two games, Akwesi Appiah has called 23 players to carry out their duties for Ghana against South Africa and Sao Tame two weeks from now. They names include Atletico Madrid’s Thomas Partey, the Ayew brothers Dede and Jordan Ayew, Mubarak Wakaso and Ghana AFCON revelation Samuel Owusu.

Inter Milan’s Kwadwo Asamoah, Christian Astu, Afriyie Acquah, John Boye and Johnathan Mensah who played crucial role in Ghana’s 2019 AFCON campaign in were axed from the list.

There were also debut call ups for Azam FC’s Razak Abalora, Real Mallorca’s Iddrisu Baba, Christopher Antwi-Adjei of SC Paderborn in Germany, Mohammed Kudus, former Hearts of Oak playmaker Torric Jibril, who currently plays for TP Mazembe and 2019 WAFU Golden boot winner Shafiu Mumuni.

Columbus Crew defender Harrison Afful who has been out of action for Black Stars in a couple of games returned to the call up.

Ghana Black Stars will resume training at the Cape Coast Sports Stadium on 11th November before they host Molefi Ntseki’s side three days later at the same venue. Ghana will then make a trip to Estádio Nacional 12 de Julho to face Gustave Clément Nyoumba’s men on 18th Nov.

Full list below

KEEPERS: Richard Ofori (Maritzburg FC, South Africa), Felix Annan (Asante Kotoko, Ghana), Razak Abalora (Azam FC, Tanzania).

DEFENDERS: Andy Yiadom (Reading, England), Harrison Afful (Columbus Crew, USA), Lumor Agbenyenu (Real Mallorca, Spain), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo, Spain), Kassim Nuhu (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany), Nicholas Opoku (Udinese, Italy), Mohammed Salisu (Real Valladolid, Spain).

MIDFIELDERS: Samuel Owusu (Al Fahya, Saudi Arabia), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Alfred Duncan (Sassuolo, Italy), Mubarak Wakaso (Deportivo Alaves, Spain), Iddrisu Baba (Real Mallorca, Spain), Christopher Antwi-Adjei (SC Paderborn, Germany).

FORWARDS: Andre Ayew (Swansea, England), Mohammed Kudus (FC Nordsjaelland, Denmark), Emmanuel Boateng (Dalian Yifang, China), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace, England), Torric Jibril (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Shafiu Mumuni (Ashantigold).




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *